Could Robert Redford Actually be Normal?

My March/April issue of the AARP magazine arrived yesterday.  And, there, on the cover, smiling ever so slightly and directly at me was Robert Redford.  Strawberry blonde hair and all.  Talk about an upper!

I never met the man personally.  (Hey, before you guffaw, I HAVE actually met some celebrities!)  But there’s something about Redford that has always made him seem so, well, normal.  Because he does look intelligent, kind and humorous – all of those things we’d like to think us normal people are. 

And looking at his photo, Bob, if I may be so bold, doesn’t seem to have had Botox or undergone any extreme, age-defying procedures.  Although, if anyone could afford it, it would be him.  Without pointing them out, the signs of surviving decades of life are there in the photo.  No drastic retouching.  And he still looks great!  In fact, for his age, he seems pretty normal-looking. Yep, there’s that word again.

And it’s not that he’s just starting to appear to be a normal person now.  I’ve always thought he was fairly normal, even when he was devilishly handsome.  And I like the guy because he has always seemed naturally self-effacing, hasn’t required the constant attention of the media and has been genuinely interested in giving back, and not for PR purposes.  And sure, that’s an image that’s also been affected by the press or lack of it surrounding him.  But, I’m guessing you feel the same way about our buddy Bob.

He is, of course, “fiercely private” as the magazine notes, but I’ll betcha that if it came down to me and him sitting knee to knee at the counter in a quiet café late one evening in Santa Fe, we’d probably have a conversation…maybe about pie.  Admittedly, for a lot of reasons, it’s doubtful we’ll ever talk.

And it’s probably better that we don’t.  Because I have a question for him.  It’s probably not the one you think it is.  The question I have is spurred by the cover photo. 

What I really want to know is:  Does Robert Redford color his hair?  (In the interests of fair play, yes, I color mine.)  I know it’s none of my business.  Really, I do know that.  And, truthfully, I’m not even sure I want to know the answer, because I’m of two minds about it.

If he says, “yes,” I’ll be ecstatic!  It’s just one more thing that says he IS normal. I’d like him even more.

But, if he says, “no,” and I WILL believe him, I’ll be crushed.  Because it means that he’s an anomaly.  After all, how many other 70-plus men do you know who haven’t gone gray?  And therein lies the rub.  Having natural strawberry-blonde hair, though lighter, at his age means all of his normal-ness goes out the window.  Sure, I’d still like him.  But, who am I kidding?  It would be different.

So, I’ll probably stay away from Santa Fe just on the off chance, because some things are better not known.  And in Bob’s case, outside of a small circle, I’m guessing only his hairdresser knows for sure.  In this age of tell-all Facebook and Twitter, I can only hope it stays that way!

This entry was posted in Humor and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Could Robert Redford Actually be Normal?

  1. Kim says:

    Some photo research on Google would suggest yes, he does dye his hair, as he has more recently been more ginger than strawberry blonde. And good for him. I’m never turning gray either. (It’s not my color.) Also, I bet he uses a very eco-friendly hair dye.

Leave a Reply

